Hello, July

It’s the 3rd of July which means we are officially half way through 2017 – how quick has that gone?! So I suppose this is a good as time as any for a bit of reflection. So, 2017, what have you brought me so far?
img_9265.jpg
The year started off a bit rubbish. Well, a lot rubbish. I was still heartbroken over my break-up at the end of last year, I was living back at home and just generally feeling a bit crap. January involved a lot of moping about and feeling sorry for myself, so let’s skip that bit shall we?
February was a lot better. February was the start of a new job that got me out of the house and meeting new people. I’m still in that job now and while it’s not really what I want to be doing, I’m actually really enjoying it. I spent Valentine’s day with two of my best friends, celebrating our love for each other – yes that’s super cringy but who wants to spend Valentine’s alone?? A couple of days later I met my now-boyfriend and while I don’t believe you should get over someone by, for lack of a better phrase, getting under someone new, meeting him changed everything. I was suddenly out of this horrible black cloud that I’d been living in for months, and feeling happy and optimistic again. Then at the end of the month I went to Pembroke to visit my old uni housemate for her birthday. We don’t see each other much anymore, which is so weird after spending 3 years basically living in each other’s pockets. To top off the month, I bought my first ever car that is truly mine and with that came a sense of independence that I’d been missing since moving home.
img_8637.jpg
img_8861
March was also a big improvement in my general happiness. I was busy working but also fitting in lots of fun activities. I went to spa weekend for my Nan’s birthday at the start of the month, and then my best friend came for her first ever visit to Wales the following week. She lives in London and although we talk all the time, I miss her like crazy. We did some exploring of Cardiff but quickly gave up to eat Mexican food and get a teeeeny bit drunk. I also did a lot of exploring around my home town during March with some friends, and towards the end of the month I climbed Pen Y Fan – a big mountain near where I live. Although I passed a lot of small children and elderly people during the walk, I was insanely proud of myself for reaching the top. It’s not an easy feat and for someone who used to get out of breath just walking up the stairs, it was a big deal to me.
img_9177
 
The start of April was just a lot of working, seeing friends and going to the gym, before flying off to Malta for a mini-break with my family. It was a perfect little getaway, and after a weird few months, it was exactly what I needed. The end of April was my Grandad’s 80th birthday, so that was celebrated with a big family party and a lot of booze.
 
Again, May was busy with working a lot. I took on some freelancing writing work towards the start of the month to earn a bit of extra money and keep my writing career going. But fitting that around a full-time job was quite stressful, even for someone who enjoys being busy. I also met my boyfriend’s family in May, and then the following week he met mine. It’s quite strange being in a place where I’m hitting these big relationship steps, when just a few months ago I was convinced I was going to end up an old spinster who collects cats – seriously.
June saw my second holiday of the year, this time with one of my best friends. We went to Majorca and basically spent a week eating, drinking and sunbathing – it was completely perfect. I also tried to shut off from my phone as much as possible for the week, which I wrote a blog post about here. June also saw me officially take on a second job, which is hopefully a step closer to the career that I want to be in. It means I’m now that person who is always complaining about how busy she is, but I secretly love it.
And now we’re in July. It seems bizarre how much my life has changed since the start of this year. Everything from my hair colour to my outlook on life is completely different (there is a slight chance that those two are linked), and I’m just so much happier. I have high hopes for the rest of the year, and if things carry on as they then the start of 2018 will be a complete contrast the rubbish start this year had.
 
Leave a Reply

