Taking Care of Yourself 

We all have ‘off’ days. Those days where you just don’t feel right, where you’re not quite you. It’s important to take care of yourself, and that includes taking care of your mind.

I have days like this a lot. Days where I get home and all I want to do is curl up in bed and feel sad, often for no reason. But I’ve started finding little ways to give myself a boost and lift my mood, which I’m going to share below.

Some might sound obvious, and some might sound like they won’t help you at all. Obviously, they’re not going to be perfect for everyone – they’re just little, achievable ways that work for me when I’m feeling low.

 

Candles 

My go-to solution for a bit of a bad day is to fill my bedroom with candles. Think of the Friends apartment in the episode where Monica and Chandler get engaged and you’re on the right track. There’s just something so therapeutic about a candle. I’m not sure if it’s the scent or the gentle flicker of the flame, but it’s a huge help for when I’m trying to sooth my brain.

Bubble Bath  

I’m a sucker for a bubble bath on any given day, but when I’m feeling a bit down – well that’s when it becomes a necessity. I find that saving special bath products for those off days is a big help. Treat yourself to an expensive bath bomb or foam for an indulgent experience that can help lift your mood.

My new favourite bath products are the Lush Bubble Bars. I’m currently using The Comforter, which does exactly what it says on the tin. Aside from creating enough bubbles to float away in, it turns the water a dreamy shade of pink AND smells like bubblegum – yummy. All you need to do is break a little bit off and run it under the water to turn your bath into a bubblegum paradise.

However, Lush products are a little on the expensive side, and I have bad days on average a few times a week. So I’ve had to hunt down a cheaper substitute. Wilkinsons do a great range of bath products called Fruits, which come in a range of gorgeous-smelling fruity scents. Although they don’t really change the appearance of the water, they smell amazing and leave your skin feeling silky smooth. For just £1 each, they’re perfect for a more frequent treat.

Reading 

Sometimes a good book is the best solution for getting out of your own head for a little bit. While my go-to passtime is more related to staring blankly at a tv screen, that isn’t always the best way to get out of a bad mood. I love it when I get compltely absorbed into a book, and when you’re looking to distrct yourself, snuggling up with a gripping novel can be perfect.

I’m currently reading Nina Is Not Ok, by Shappi Khorsandiand it’s amazing. Losing myself in the world of the hapless Nina and her drunken antics is an easy way to unwind – and make me feel a little better about my own life. I used to be a major bookworm before I discovered Netflix, and I’m trying to get back into that.

Create a Happy Space 

It can be easy to get into a bit of a funk and stop caring about your surroundings when you’re not feeling great. But I find that an easy way to uplift myself, even temporarily, is to improve the space around me. For me, that ranges from simply tidying up my bedroom to completely rearranging furniture. I don’t really understand fung shui, but I do believe there is something to be said for giving your space an uplifting overhaul.

This could be something that my mum conditioned into me as a way to get me to clean up after myself, but I really appreciate having a tidy bedroom and find that keeping things neat and organised is a big help. Tidy space, tidy mind? Who knows. But being able to actually see my bedroom floor is always a massive plus. And it gives you something to do, which is really good when boredom is a factor into your low mood.

Beauty

I never used to be one for a beauty regime – heck, even taking my make-up off was a triumph for me when I was back in uni. But these days I’m a lot stricter with caring for my aging skin. I mostly do this out of necessity (those crows feet are only getting bigger), but it’s also a great way to unwind and relax. I find that routine is good for my mental health, so having a beauty plan in place is a great solution.

I’ve also started trying out more of pamper-style routines. For example, I use face masks about once a week lately. It’s great for your skin and can really help you when you feel like you need a little treat after a bad day. These 7th Heaven sets are wonderfully cheap, but also leave your skin feeling beautifully refreshed.

And finally…

Exercise

Yeah, I know. Exercise isn’t on the top of anyone’s lists of things to do. But it really does help in some instances. I’ve found that when I’m in a rubbish mood, taking my frustration out on a treadmill or crosstrainer is really therapeutic.

It doesn’t have to be as strenuous as going to a gym, either. Lately, I’ve been going on a lot of walks and it really does help to clear your head. Whether alone or with a friend, just getting out and getting some fresh air can be a huge help when you’re feeling a bit down.

 

One thought on “Taking Care of Yourself 

Leave a Reply

